An Effective Way to Start the Class

Because I work with students with behavior and learning disabilities, and because my basic literacy class is shortly before lunch, I like to break up the time with short activities.  I always start the class with what I call a “brain stretch” to get them warmed up for class.  Today the brain stretch was to look at a group of pictures I projected onto the wall with an ELMO for 1 minute.  Then I covered the pictures and gave them 1 minute to write down as many things as they could remember from the pictures.  We then shared the results as a group.  Putting words to pictures is an important literacy skill because it helps kids learn to associate ideas together and it helps to build their vocabulary.

Leave a Reply

