Teaching Diversity in Vermont

I just found this great resource from the Vermont Folklife Center. It’s an educational resource for helping students focus on what makes them Vermonters, and it also helps them learn about some of the refugees who have resettled here so they can begin to broaden their definition of “Vermonter“. I’ve been looking for a really good way to get these conversations going in my classroom, and so far I’ve presented students with all kinds of background knowledge about different push and pull factors, but I’ve been missing a real link to specific personal stories.

I’m interested in discussing the photographs and using Flip cameras to capture thoughts and expressions so that we can make a short video for our class website.

Here is the link to the educational site I found:
http://their-own-words.org/education/grades-9-12.htm

Leave a Reply

