New School Year

While I haven’t used this blog much, I do think about how I want to make blogging more a part of my educational life.  I read lots of blogs and I’m always really impressed with what teachers are sharing and discussing.  As a new school year starts for my school district on August 21 and summer is rapidly winding down, I’ve thought a lot about how I want to approach my students next year and what I want to teach.  I took three courses during my summer break, and through those I developed some fun and exciting ideas that I can’t wait to try.  One thing that I did was develop a web portal with some resources for information technology.  While web portals are kind of on the outs (I haven’t used one since iGoogle ceased to exist), I did create one for one of my classes.  I think it’s something that I might keep updating, or at least, I will save the link so I can get to the resources when I need them.  Another class I took required me to develop a research process for students.  That was a really interesting project and one that I would like to share on this blog in the future.  The third class I took, required me to develop a conference workshop around reading comprehension and technology.  That ended up being a project that I actually would like to present. In the past when I’ve taken graduate courses I haven’t had them relate so closely to what I do and cause me to be so excited about getting back into my classroom.  The courses I took over the summer have inspired me and I can’t wait to see my students and help them learn some cool stuff that I’ve been working on while we’ve all been away on summer vacation. 

Leave a Reply

